Advertise Now
Asia Attractions
Travel Companies
  Home > Travel Asia > Asia Destinations > Dadra


India officially the Republic of India, is a country in South Asia. It is the seventh-largest country by geographical area, the second most populous country, and the most populous liberal democracy in the world. India is a union of twenty-eight states and seven federally-governed union territories. New Delhi is the capital of India.
Dadra and Nagar Haveli is a Union Territory in western India. Nagar Haveli is wedged between Maharashtra and Gujarat, whereas Dadra is an enclave lying a few km north of Nagar Haveli in Gujarat. Its capital is Silvassa.
It was a Portuguese colony, dependent of Daman, from 1779 until 1954 when it was absorbed by India. From 1954 to 1961, the territory was largely self-governing, the administration being done by a body called the Varishta Panchayat of Free Dadra and Nagar Haveli. It became a Union territory in 1961 and is currently represented in the Parliament of India; the Lower House and the Upper House Mr. Sanjibhai Rupjibhai Delkar is the first Member of Parliament. Mr. Mohanbhai Delkar is the present Member of Parliament.
The enclave of Dadra and Nagar Haveli is a tiny union territory in Western India wedged between the states of Maharashtra and Gujarat. The two regions Dadra and Nagar Haveli are separated from each other by a few kilometers. Both lie on the West coast, at the mouth of the Daman Ganga River. Dadra and Nagar Haveli's gross state domestic product for 2004 is estimated at 218 million dollars in current prices. The official language is Marathi and Gujrathi. As per 2001 census the total population was 220,451.

It can also be considered as the preeminent, historical and potential tourism destination that enjoys a very positive reputation with worldwide travelers to become one of the most visited places.

Everything you need to know about Traveling Asia is here at

Back to Asia Destinations

Asia Destinations
Asia News